How to Unmatch With Someone on Tinder

Whether you're no longer interested or there wasn't a connection in person, here's how to unmatch someone on Tinder in a few simple steps.


Nicolle Monico
Updated 22 March 2022
How to Unmatch With Someone on Tinder
Sections on this page
  1. How to Unmatch on Tinder 
  2. Reasons to Unmatch On Tinder 
  3. The Difference Between Unmatching and Blocking 
  4. How to Block Someone on Tinder
  5. How to Report Someone on Tinder 
  6. Frequently Asked Questions

When it comes to dating, Tinder lets you easily swipe left or right on people you think could be a potential match for you. While it can be a fun way to meet people, sometimes you can run into situations where you’re either no longer interested in a connection or they’ve made you feel uncomfortable. Learn how to unmatch on Tinder, block a contact from seeing your profile, or report someone who violates the app’s community guidelines.

How to Unmatch on Tinder 

Follow these steps to unmatch on Tinder: 

  1. Open your Tinder app
  2. Tap the Chat icon in the bottom toolbar
    how to unmatch on Tinder
  3. Click on the person you want to unmatch
  4. This opens the Chat window
  5. Tap the Shield icon in the top-right corner
  6. The Safety Toolkit should pop-up
    how to unmatch on Tinder
  7. Choose the Unmatch Only option
  8. Confirm your choice by tapping Yes, UnMatch in the next screen
    how to unmatch on Tinder

Keep in mind that unmatching someone is permanent, so they’ll no longer show up on your Chat page or in your feed again.

Reasons to Unmatch On Tinder 

When you begin the process of unmatching with a connection, you’ll be given a list of reasons as to why you’d like to unmatch with this person. These options include:

  • No reason (selected by default)
  • Offensive messages
  • Inappropriate photos
  • Bad offline behavior
  • Feels like spam
  • Other

If you felt that their online or offline behavior was offensive, you can also choose to report them. 

The Difference Between Unmatching and Blocking 

When you unmatch with someone, you both already swiped right on each other. That means, at the time, you both wanted to connect with the other person. When you unmatch them, they are already on your Messages or New Matches page.

When you block someone, it's done via the blocking feature on Tinder and isn't available once you've matched with them already. Blocking someone allows you to keep them from ever coming across your profile (such as exes or coworkers) by inputting their number and email address into the app.

How to Block Someone on Tinder

There are two ways to block people on Tinder, either by uploading your contacts list into the app or by manually inputting their email address and phone number into the app. 

Upload Your Contacts to Tinder

To block a contact on Tinder, you’ll need to make sure they are saved as a contact in your phone (i.e., not just a floating phone number). Then follow the below steps:

  1. Open the Tinder app
  2. Tap the Profile icon on the bottom bar
  3. Tap Settings on the profile screen
  4. Scroll down until you see Block Contacts
    how to unmatch on Tinder
    (Source: Gadgets to Use)
  5. Click on the Contacts tab at the top
  6. Tap Import Contacts to upload your phone’s contact into the app
  7. When asked, select Yes to give Tinder access to your contacts
    how to block on Tinder
    (Source: Gadgets to Use)
  8. Finally, select the contact(s) you want to block
  9. Tap Block Contacts to confirm 

Manually Input a Contact to Tinder

If you don’t want to upload your entire contacts list, you can manually input each number and email address you’d like to block. To do this, follow the below steps:

  1. Open the Tinder app
  2. Tap the Profile icon on the bar at the bottom
  3. On the profile screen, tap Settings
  4. Scroll down the Settings page and tap Block Contacts
    how to block someone on Tinder
  5. On the Block Contacts screen, select the + (plus) sign on the top-right corner
  6. The Add Contact page will open
  7. Tap the Name field and enter the name of the person you’d like to block
  8. Tap Add phone number and type in their phone number
  9. Tap Add email to enter their email address
    how to block someone on Tinder
  10. Hit Done on the top right corner of the app 

How to Report Someone on Tinder 

There are some instances in which unmatching a profile isn’t enough, and you need to go an extra step further due to their offensive behavior. To report a Tinder match, you’ll need to take the following steps:

Report a Person Within the App 

While swiping…

  1. Open the user’s Profile
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the page and tap Report 

From your match list…

  1. Open their Chat window
  2. Tap on their Photo to open their Profile
  3. Scroll down to the bottom and tap Report

Keep in mind that reporting them will delete all communication so it’s always a good idea to take screenshots of any inappropriate behavior prior to reporting them. You may be able to use it as evidence should more action need to be taken later on.

Report a Person via Email

Tinder’s policies and Community Guidelines dictate what type of behavior is not tolerated on the app. If you feel a match is violating these guidelines, you can email Tinder with the following info:

  • The reason you’re reporting them
  • Their exact name, age, bio, and all profile photos (screenshots are best)
  • The user's location, phone number or email address (if known)

The more details you can provide, the quicker they’ll be able to investigate the user in question.

Safety Tips Email
Safety Tips Email

Stay up to date with the latest information on how to keep safe with guides and featured products written by experts. Unsubscribe any time.

Please enter a valid email address

Frequently Asked Questions

Will my match see that I unmatched them?

Yes, your match will see that you unmatched them since you will no longer appear on their Messages or New Matches page. Your chat history will also be deleted. They won’t be notified that you unmatched them though, so they won’t know until they go into the app. 

If you unmatch on Tinder, can they reappear on your feed?

It’s highly unlikely (but not impossible) to see an unmatch person a second time around on your feed. One reason this may happen is if the unmatch person completely deleted their profile and started a new one. Users can do this for many reasons.

Sometimes it’s easier to start over than it is to browse through hundreds of old messages or they needed a full break from the app and chose to delete it instead of pausing it. In these cases, you could potentially see someone on your feed that you previously unmatched. 

Can you block someone before you match with them?

No, unfortunately, Tinder doesn’t offer this feature. If you don’t have a person’s email address or phone number, you won’t be able to keep them from seeing your profile on their feed.

Apps such as Hinge and Bumble do have a blocking feature which removes or hides individuals from your feed which allows you to prevent them from coming across your profile if they haven’t yet and you won’t come across their profile again.

Comments

Featured Reads